Double Header Practice

It was a great rc weekend, indoor onroad practice on Saturday and indoor offroad practice on Sunday.

IMG_5520

Saturday I made the oh so nice 25 minute drive to the recently opened Free Ride RC Park. This new track was just opened by the Florida RC Outlet in Jacksonville, Fl. I bought the Spec-R just because this track is so close to home. My first run with the Spec-R S1 touring car was tons of fun. Very happy with it’s performance for the amount of money I have in it. I drove all day and truly enjoyed spending time with friends and driving the car.

http://youtu.be/N6Gfvt4nkTs

 image    20130808-004419.jpg

When I got home from the Outlet store, the new Tekno EB48.2 was close enough that I would finish the tweaks trackside at SCRC in Cocoa Beach, Florida. But I still had some work to do with the Tekno SCT410 short course truck that I wanted to bring. I recently got some new differential gears to install that are supposed to be quieter and more efficient than the stock gears. I was also excited to try out a new battery from Trinity, a Revtech Formula X 8000mah/150C 2S lipo.

Sunday I crawled out of bed and made the 2+ hour drive to SCRC. This track was the perfect place to test out the new equipment. It’s a fairly large indoor clay track and shares similar qualities to the track we’ll be visiting next month in Flowood, Mississippi.

The EB48.2 felt great. It was super smooth, very quiet, and crazy fast.

http://youtu.be/3PhcFqGGBwA

The SCT410 was great with the new upgrades. Much quieter and the acceleration and runtime with the new battery was nuts. I got just shy of 20 minutes on a charge.

The JConcepts Clash is just around the corner. I’ll have one more chance to run the EB48.2 at River Rat RC Track before heading out to MS with the family.

5 thoughts on “Double Header Practice

    • The stock diff ring and diff pinion gears are angle cut. If you look close you’ll notice a slight curve to the teeth. The new Tekno gears, TKR5151 ring gear and TKR5152 diff pinion gear, are straight cut. These straight cut gears are definitely quieter. I couldn’t tell you for sure if they are more efficient but I have to believe the extra noise of the old gears meant more resistance.

Leave a Reply

