JConcepts Clash

DSC_0585

I really wanted to right this big ol’ elaborate blog about the Clash but if I stick to that mentality it’ll never get done. So this is the “express” version.

So my wife got us in very late Wednesday partially due to the extra hour we gained heading west. I got up and made my way to the track Thursday morning to claim a pit spot. I thought it was a little weird but practice wouldn’t start until about 1 o’clock so all you could do was get a good spot and wait. What I wasn’t expecting was JConcepts to make room for me under their tent. Great way to start the event.

I decided to race my Tekno RC SCT410, that has been very good to me, and my brand new Tekno RC EB48.2. This only be the second time racing the EB but I have a lot of confidence with Tekno RC.

The track was very slick to start. It was something I could handle with the SC pretty easily but the starting setup I was using on the EB was honestly terrible. It was from a setup sheet online for higher grip situations and that was not the case here. I knew something had to change so I made some camber tweaks and headed back out. Thank goodness it started to act like it should and I started to get a feel for it. Some toe changes and I was ready.

Friday was more practice in the am with a round of qualifying scheduled for a 4pm start. Both Tekno’s felt good. The plan was to just put in two safe runs. Qualifying was going to be based on qual points and your performance scored over 3 of the 4 qualifiers. That means being fast once don’t mean much. You have to be consistent. So finishing 7th overall in E-Buggy and 4th overall in 4×4 SC was a great start.

IMG_5602 IMG_5603

 

Saturday was three rounds of qualifying. The E-Buggy class was nuts. It was the biggest class and just full of talent. Watching them go around was amazing. I still didn’t quite feel used to the EB48.2 quite yet. I had been driving a Tekno converted Mugen MBX-6 prior. So this felt like going from a Caddy to a Porsche. Despite that my performance netted me a 8th place position in the A-Main.

The SCT410 was great like always. I finished Saturday with two 2nds and a 1st that put me number 2 in the A-Main behind JR Mitch.

IMG_5618 IMG_5619

 

Sunday was triple A-Mains meant consistency was going to pay off again. E-Buggy A1-Main was first and what a great way to start. Sneaking through a pile up after the start and picking the JConcepts tires to start the day, gave me a 3rd place finish.

I was feeling good going into A1 of the 4×4 SC mains. The Tekno was great again and I finish in second behind JR.

Unfortunately bad luck and mistakes knocked me out of a podium finish in E-Buggy but I’m still proud of my 7th place overall finish. 4×4 SC was close but I finish A2 and A3 with a 2nd and a 1st to secure a 2nd place overall.

DSC_0739-crop

 

This was my second JConcepts Clash and it doesn’t disappoint. A great facility and great racers make this one of the best races of the year.

IMG_5620

 

Leave a Reply

