ROAR Nats Practice

We finally got to hit the track today. 2 hour time change made getting up easier and we were out the door. The practice was supposed to start at 9 but got delayed to do to the driver check-in. This gave us plenty of time to finish setting up our pits and start tuning the rides.

20140618-223945-81585299.jpg

20140618-223946-81586748.jpg Got to thank Mike Truhe for stopping by and giving me a hand tuning the Truggy. This was my first time driving the Truggy and I would gladly except any help.

They wanted to give everyone the same opportunity on the track so they so the open practice everyone got a single practice ticket for each class that they were running (not everyone is running both). That really wasn’t too bad. It was fair and kept everything moving. The open practice gave you 2.5’ish minutes of practice and a 5 minute run. After which you marshalled. I’m glad to say I ran my entire warmup and heat the first time out with the borrowed truck. It was pretty good but had a noticeable lacked steering. Back in the pits I found that my EPA’s were a little low and weren’t really “locking” the steering. That plus removing a rear ballast had it turning on a dime. The buggy was good the first time out but seemed to have a large neutral band and a slight drag break. Hitting the trim fixed it some and I fixed the rest with my finger. I honestly didn’t really look at it until just before the third run. For some reason my trim was WAY off. fixing this just before the third run meant I had full throttle again! Holy expletive that thing is fast. I knocked about a second and a half off my fastest lap time.

Having done six total runs today I must say I’m pretty happy for my first Nats. The track is honestly pretty easy so that helps keep the stress level down but it also means it’s easy for everyone. For me there are only two things that are difficult. An off-camber 180º turn on the far left is tough to judge and keeping your speed up to get a fast lap time.

Seeding practice starts tomorrow and we’re off to the room. I’ve got a set of tires to glue and batteries to refresh. Good night!

Leave a Reply

